Diversions on a theme, or, The 2014 Errandonnee

I’ve enjoyed reading the chasing mailboxes blog for a couple years now, and appreciate the light-hearted creative reinterpretations of randonneuring featured there such as the coffeeneuring challenge and the errandonnee. This year I finally decided to take the plunge and participate. I like the idea of the errandonnee since I have been commuting by bike my whole life. It’s nice to think that something so natural for me as going to the grocery store by bike might be something worth recording.

I initially wanted to give my errandonnee some kind of theme or use it as a way to show some of my favorite spots in San Francisco, but it turned out to be enough work just to record the rides. I’m not even totally sure I did it right, so hopefully the ride organizer doesn’t DNF me! It was a lot harder to fulfill the rules than I thought. Normally a randonee will have 3-5 controls, but this event has twelve! And…sigh. One thing about me is that my work studio and my living space share the same roof, and I’ve mostly structured my life so that my errands are a mile or less from this place. I typically walk to the grocery or the bike shop, two of the ten Errandonnee categories. The greatest challenge in doing the errandonnee would be to find a way to fulfill the thirty-mile requirement. Including the 186-mile brevet I did that just happened to fall within the time limit and my trip the next weekend up to Point Reyes Station, my total logged miles from March 7-19 were about 302.7, though I have to admit that my in-town errands only added up to 25.3 of them. Categories used were Bike Shop (twice), Lunch, Community Meeting (twice… I think), Dinner, Grocery Store (twice), Any other store (twice), Personal Care and Health (twice), Library, Work, and Wild Card.

On with the documentation! If I understood the rules correctly, there are three basic requirements: a total minimum mileage of 30, quantity of errands at twelve distributed somewhat evenly among ten categories plus a ‘wild card’ category, and photodocumentation of each errand. So, here are the errands I documented, their mileages, categories, and pictures of each, listed by date.

Ride 1: March 7, 2014

Box Dog Bikes; .8 miles round trip; Bike Shop category. I usually prefer to walk here, but it's fun to bike sometimes. This is my 'townie', an old Motobecane with peeling paint and several rebuilds under its bottom bracket... It's less theftworthy that way. Currently it's a fixed gear with hand-me-down fenders and a completely indexed headset that needs replacement. But what can I say, I've been riding this bike for so many years... and it is pretty low trail.

Box Dog Bikes; .8 miles round trip; Bike Shop category. I usually prefer to walk here, but it’s fun to bike sometimes. This is my ‘townie’, an old Motobecane with peeling paint and several rebuilds under its bottom bracket… It’s less theftworthy that way. Currently it’s a fixed gear with hand-me-down fenders and a completely indexed headset that needs replacement. But what can I say, I’ve been riding this bike for so many years… and it is pretty low trail.

Ride 2: March 8, 2014

Golden Gate Bridge Plaza, the start of the SFR 300k to Healdsburg. I am very fortunate to live in the city and be able to get to brevet starts without having to drive. 192 miles round trip, Personal care/health category

Golden Gate Bridge Plaza, the start of the SFR 300k to Healdsburg. I am very fortunate to live in the city and be able to get to brevet starts without having to drive. 192 miles round trip, Personal care/health category

Farmland out to the coast on the SFR 300k; typical Jack Moonbeam (neon landscape (neon green grass made possible by recent rains)

Farmland out to the coast on the SFR 300k; typical Jack Moonbeam neon landscape (neon green grass made possible by recent rains)

Ride 3: March 10, 2014

3 bookstores and a thrift store to clear some space in my studio; San Francisco Center for the Book to cut materials for a class I teach; Fed Ex Kinko's to make copies of articles for my students and forms for my business as a professional bookbinder and book conservator. Any store category and Work category; 5.7 miles total

3 bookstores and a thrift store to clear some space in my studio; San Francisco Center for the Book to cut materials for a class I teach; Fed Ex Kinko’s to make copies of articles for my students and forms for my business as a professional bookbinder and book conservator. Any store category and Work category; 5.7 miles total

San Francisco Center for the Book with their new Friends of the Urban Forest trees

San Francisco Center for the Book with their new Friends of the Urban Forest trees

fedex kinkos

fedex kinkos

on the way to fedex

on the way to fedex… SF is pretty ok

Ride 4: March 10, 2014

John's place; Dinner category; 5.2 miles round trip. Learning about my new digital camera, and its night scenery settings. I used my Lezyne USB rechargeable lights fore and aft. I also have a pair of terrific homemade reflective ankle bands that stick out a couple inches from my ankles like flags. The behavior of motorists around me is noticeably more respectful when I wear them.

John’s place; Dinner category; 5.2 miles round trip. Learning about my new digital camera, and its night scenery settings. I used my Lezyne USB rechargeable lights fore and aft. I also have a pair of terrific homemade reflective ankle bands that stick out a couple inches from my ankles like flags. The behavior of motorists around me is noticeably more respectful when I wear them.

San Francisco City Hall at night

San Francisco City Hall at night

Ride 5: March 15, 2014

Whale of a Deli and Black Mountain Cycles in Point Reyes Station, CA via Mount Tam and Bolinas Ridge Trail.Lunch and Bike Shop categories, 85.4 miles

Whale of a Deli and Black Mountain Cycles in Point Reyes Station, CA via Mount Tam and Bolinas Ridge Trail. Lunch and Bike Shop categories, 85.4 miles

Bolinas Ridge trail

Bolinas Ridge trail

Unfortunately I missed the open hours by about 25 minutes. But I did have a real errand as I lost a bolt from my toeclip on the way up.

Unfortunately I missed the open hours by about 25 minutes. But I did have a real errand as I lost a bolt from my toeclip on the way up.

I really raced back to town to avoid riding after twilight for too long. I was not riding my usual bike with the dyno hub and nice lights; I just had my townie lights. Luckily I made it back to Sausalito by twilight, and did not run out of battery power. I have USB rechargeable Lezyne lights fore and aft.

I really raced back to town to avoid riding after twilight for too long. I was not riding my usual bike with the dyno hub and nice lights; I just had my townie lights. Luckily I made it back to Sausalito by twilight, and did not run out of battery power. I have USB rechargeable Lezyne lights fore and aft.

Ride 6: March 17, 2014

Mission Community acupuncture, then San Francisco Public Library. 4.2 miles, Personal care and Library categories. I like how in San Francisco it's assumed you can bring your bike inside with you.

Mission Community acupuncture, then San Francisco Public Library. 4.2 miles, Personal care and Library categories. I like how in San Francisco it’s assumed you can bring your bike inside with you.

Current SFPL display with a child's bathing suit from the old Sutro Baths. I have a giant architectural drawing of the interior of this building, which burned down in the sixties but was a great public bath when it was around.

Current SFPL display with a child’s bathing suit from the old Sutro Baths. I have a giant architectural drawing of the interior of this building, which burned down in the sixties but was a great public bath when it was around.

Ride 7: March 17, 2014

Rainbow Grocery, San Francisco Center for the Book, and Ladybones Print Collective. Grocery, Work, and Community Meeting categories; 3.8 miles. Rainbow is a cooperatively owned grocery near where I live. I usually just walk there, but since I had some other errands that were longer, I rode. Rainbow is located on Folsom Street, where one of probably the longest continuous bike lanes in the city is now located.

Rainbow Grocery, San Francisco Center for the Book, and Ladybones Print Collective. Grocery, Work, and Community Meeting categories; 3.8 miles. Rainbow is a cooperatively owned grocery near where I live. I usually just walk there, but since I had some other errands that were longer, I rode. Rainbow is located on Folsom Street, where one of probably the longest continuous bike lanes in the city is now located.

My friends printing, sewing (though not at the moment), and making books at the Ladybones Print Collective Community Night. We hang out, enjoy a beverage, offer suggestions on each others' print and other projects, and kvetch etc.

My friends printing, sewing (though not at the moment), and making books at the Ladybones Print Collective Community Night. We hang out, enjoy a beverage, offer suggestions on each others’ print and other projects, and kvetch etc.

Ride 8: March 18, 2014

Dr. Sketchys, a life-drawing group held twice a month at the great utilitarian space operated by Chicken John. I work the door, so I'm not sure if this is Work or Community Meeting... In the foreground wearing dark grey is the lovely Miss Alice Stribling, who rides Big Miles. 3 miles, Work or Community Meeting category

Dr. Sketchys, a life-drawing group held twice a month at the great utilitarian space operated by Chicken John. I work the door, so I’m not sure if this is Work or Community Meeting… In the foreground wearing dark grey is the lovely Miss Alice Stribling, who rides Big Miles. 3 miles, Work or Community Meeting category

Ride 9: March 19, 2014

Last day of Errandonnee 2014! Woo hoo! I head over to Petco to pick up some cat food, then go to the grocery for some people food. I walk home from the grocery because Mission Street is just inappropriate for bikes and it's too close to home to bother finding a way around. Wild Card and grocery store categories, 1.8 miles

Last day of Errandonnee 2014! Woo hoo! I head over to Petco to pick up some cat food, then go to the grocery for some people food. I walk home from the grocery because Mission Street is just inappropriate for bikes and it’s too close to home to bother finding a way around. Wild Card and grocery store categories, 1.8 miles

Finale... I grab some fresh tofu and chamorro de res and head home à pied.

Finale… I grab some fresh tofu and chamorro de res and head home à pied.

One thought on “Diversions on a theme, or, The 2014 Errandonnee

  1. Pingback: Errandonnee Finishers Announced! | chasing mailboxes d.c.

Leave a Reply

