Just another 200k

Last month, I completed a 200k. It was a permanent route, my own in fact, and it was pretty uneventful. I rode with John, as I have so many times before. It was rather cold, which made it different than other rides. But it was sunny, the route was nice and quiet, and despite being practically catastrophically out of shape, it was a fantastic day on the bike. Many, many times throughout the day, I caught myself thinking, “this is soooo niiiice.” We encountered very few cars, and even fewer riders; only one other cyclist did we see on Mount Tam, and it happened to be another Box Dog customer, judging by the water bottles and frame. We got to go to my favorite brewpub at the finish and toss back a bit less than a pint (those dang artful brewpubs!), eat a fancy empanada, and go home for a shower.  Here are some pictures.

ta ta for now, SF!

TTFN,SF

 

base of railroad grade

base of railroad grade

 

mmmm forest at dawn on Tam

mmmm forest at dawn on Tam

 

adjusting layers on Old Railroad Grade

adjusting layers on Old Railroad Grade

 

West Point Inn

West Point Inn

 

Bronze model of Mount Tam

Bronze model of Mount Tam

 

Top of Mount Tam visitor area

Top of Mount Tam visitor area

 

cold, cold sunlight

cold, cold sunlight

 

Alpine Dam is spilling

Alpine Dam is spilling

 

Little Free Library in Samuel P. Taylor campground

Little Free Library in Samuel P. Taylor campground

 

Black Mountain off to the left

Black Mountain off to the left

 

Nicasio Reservoir, also full to spilling

Nicasio Reservoir, also full to spilling

 

Marshall wall inches closer, farmland is utterly at peace today

Marshall wall inches closer, farmland is utterly at peace today

 

not likely driving while texting

not likely driving while texting

 

at least it's warm on the climb

at least it’s warm on the climb

 

1000 shades of green

1000 shades of green

 

Mount Tam and Black Mountain align with the top of Marshall wall

Mount Tam and Black Mountain align with the top of Marshall wall

 

the new cockpit

the new cockpit

 

tip of the hat to another excellent year in rando adventuring

tip of the hat to another excellent year in rando adventuring

This ride wasn’t remarkable in any way except it was the 60th consecutive 200k or greater I’ve completed, beginning with my very first brevet to the Point Reyes Light House in January 2012. Yay for me! Whoop de doo! Next month, the series will continue. I hope. As I’ve said before, I never take randonneuring for granted. But I like doing the R-12s, because these days, being consistent seems more of an interesting challenge to me than being fast. I’ve always preferred having a good time to getting a good time, and that’s what I’ve done. In the past few years, I’ve really worked on finishing with a smile on my face, and I look forward to continuing that trend. But who knows? Everything changes. I might get faster and enjoy my rides, fancy that! If I do, you’ll surely read about it here on mmmmbike!

Leave a Reply

